THIS IS HOW YOU GET NOTICED AND POSSIBLY PROMOTED AS AN INTERN IN A COMPANY!!

When I first started working in the corporate world as a corps member (mandatory military service in Nigeria), I was overwhelmed. Prior to that, my only working experience was from when I spent six months in a state government agency and trust me, the difference between both office settings was obvious. As a novice, I knew I had to work twice as hard in order to stand out and possibly, be retained as a staff after my service year.

Fast forward to months after my internship, I was offered a letter of employment! Want to know what I did to impress the big guys? Keep reading!

HOW TO LAND A JOB IN A COMPANY AFTER YOUR INTERNSHIP PROGRAM!

1. Be ready to learn the work: Nobody wants to work with a know-it-all. Always remain teachable and learn from your mistakes. Also, do not stop asking questions especially as you are just starting out. This will help you avoid little errors and gain trust from your superiors.

2. Add value to the company: I cannot overemphasize this! Strive to be an asset to your organization by working hard, smart and proffering solutions where necessary through research. If your bosses can count on you to do a task without their supervision, believe that your chances of getting in as a permanent staff is really high.

3. Keep track of your successes: Have an Excel sheet that shows your wins, tasks accomplished, problems solved and highlights of your internship. These are items that you can include in your Resume that will give you an edge over others.

4. Be friendly with staff members: This is a key factor to note for every intern. Even the least person on the company’s hierarchy deserves your respect. You want to build healthy work relationships as they might come in handy when you are seeking for job opportunities.

5. Dress smart: A guaranteed way to stand out anywhere is to dress properly! There are certain dress codes that are frowned upon especially in the corporate world. You should do well to stay away from those. Ever heard the saying, “the way you dress is the way you are addressed?” It is totally true. Put in effort to dress the part every day.


These are my 5 foolproof steps to getting promoted as an intern in any company. If you are an intern and looking for a job opportunity where you currently work, I hope these steps help you achieve your goals. Good luck!

Are you an intern looking to get promoted at work or have you already been promoted? Share your experience below! I would love to hear from you. Do not forget to like and share as well ❤️

Also, I want to connect with new bloggers and readers this year. Follow me on Instagram @anniejaai and mention that you read this post for a follow back!!

Leave a comment